Bhutan Disaster Assessment Tools and Mechanisms

Backgroud on BDA

The entire BDAInfo is based on the DevInfo emergency module. The Emergency Module was developed based on the experiences from the tsunami in December 2004 and subsequent gathering of data and indicator material from affected countries. It has been pilot tested in Indonesia, Maldives and Sri Lanka. It was developed by UNICEF in cooperation with other UN agencies, such as the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs and World Health Organization, through consultations and workshops for application towards future emergencies. It is available with the new DevInfo Version 6.0.Why BDA?

To have in place a system of carrying out assessments after disasters in Bhutan that is standard across all Dzongkhags and clearly understood by all. A total of eight Sectors are covered in BDA:

  1. Education
  2. Psycho-social Support & Protection
  3. Shelter
  4. Health & Nutrition
  5. WASH
  6. Food & Livelihoods
  7. Transport & Communications
  8. Culture

Three Stages of BDA

  1. Initial Assessment of the Disaster Scenario (IADS)
  2. Household (HH)
  3. Local Authority